Mmmm…Hearts!

How far would you go for the person you love most?

For Joel Hammond, (Timothy Olyphant) he’ll pretty much do anything for his wife Sheila; (Drew Barrymore) like your average lying to the neighbors and police, and good old fashioned murder.

My boyfriend and I just recently finished the new Netflix Original Series “Santa Clarita Diet” and I thought that Valentine’s Day is the perfect time to review this gem.

Let me start off by saying, I’m an absolute sucker for a good marketing campaign and promo. Netflix did not disappoint with the promo videos leading up to the release of the show. Videos styled like a Jenny Craig commercial, “I’ve lost 10 pounds on this fab new diet and I can eat AAALLLLL the people I want”. Just little teasers, not explaining much but showing blood dripping down Drew Barrymore’s face really got me intrigued.  Also, if you haven’t had a chance to see it yet, I highly recommend checking out the Body Break video. A+ Netflix!

The first episode, started off a bit slow with character development and story build up (as most series’ these days) and a lot of the jokes do feel a bit forced. I’m a huge fan of cheesy – give me all of the cheese, but the first episode seemed to be trying a bit too hard. With that said, I’m not a quitter and I’m so glad I kept watching.

The show follows married couple, Joel and Sheila Hammond. They’re Real Estate agents who live on a very generic, picturesque suburban street. They have a daughter and a couple crazy neighbors and they go through life one mundane day at a time. (SSDD!) (Timothy Olyphant movie reference 😉 )

The Plot: Mysteriously, Sheila gets sick (like crazy amounts of puke all over the room sick) and becomes an undead (not really a zombie) cannibal and all hilarity and hell breaks loose. Her husband tries to help with the murdering of the baddies in order to support his wife’s new and necessary diet but sadly, he isn’t the murdering type. This issue in itself sets up a dialogue for gender roles in marriage.

The show light-heartedly pokes fun at a lot of issues that we’ve seen in the news, such as gender roles and crooked cops specifically, but they don’t shove it down your throat.

Santa Clarita Diet won’t be for everyone, I just happen to really enjoy it. The humour is cheesy, the acting is good, the gore is on point and the bond between a cannibal and her loving family is definitely heartwarming.  If you haven’t watched it yet, I will say, it gets better after the first episode and you will be laughing, a lot!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Have you watched Santa Clarita Diet yet? What did you think?

  • D

Image result for santa clarita diet

Leave a Reply

